SUICIDE SQUAD Cast Photo Reveals New Additions; Joe Manganiello is Not Playing Deathstroke

Suicide Squad is expected to begin filming any day now in Toronto, and writer-director David Ayer has now shared our first look at the (almost) complete cast. Via Twitter, he revealed most of the film’s ensemble cast at a script read-through.

From Will Smith (Deadshot) and Viola Davis (Amanda Waller) to Cara Delevingne (Enchantress) and a very happy looking Jai Courtney (Captain Boomerang), nearly everyone is present. The exception? Jared Leto, who plays The Joker in the movie. Perhaps he was the one who took the photo? The picture also confirms the presence of previously rumored actors Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (Killer Croc) and Jay Hernandez (El Diablo?), among others.

Most interestingly, though, is the presence of three previously unrevealed actors, to the far right of the picture: Adam Beach, Jim Parrack and Ike Barinholtz. Of course, it didn’t take long for a report on who they are playing to come out. According to Latino-Review, negotiations with Joe Manganiello to play Deathstroke fell through, and Parrack, who previously worked with Ayer on Fury, is now playing that character. This will make Slade Wilson younger than originally planned. Meanwhile, Barinholtz is said to be playing Dr. Hugo Strange, while Beach may be playing Ravan.

Shortly after this news, Manganiello clarified rumors of his involvement on Twitter, saying that Deathstroke was “not the character I was in talks for, nor was I replaced by anyone. Never signed on.” So, it sounds like the actor was in talks to play another character in Suicide Squad. This marks the third time Manganiello was in contention for a DC film and didn’t make it in; he was previously a contender to play Superman in Man of Steel, while he was reportedly in consideration to play Batman in Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. Hopefully, he will find a role in the DC Cinematic Universe at some point.

Some interesting new details here. Expect official casting and/or production news from Warner Bros. soon.

Suicide Squad is scheduled to hit theaters August 5th, 2016. The third installment in the DC Cinematic Universe stars Will Smith, Margot Robbie, Joel Kinnaman, Jai Courtney, Cara Delevingne, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Karen Fukuhara, Jim Parrack, Adam Beach, Ike Barinholtz, Scott Eastwood, Viola Davis and Jared Leto. David Ayer writes and directs.

Founder and Editor-in-Chief of WOBAM! Entertainment.

%d bloggers like this: